Math 237 – Fall 2014 – Assignments

Take home test.

Project Assignment. The MSCS Department will celebrate your completion of our calculus sequence with a Calculus Fair to be held during class time on Thursday, December 4.

Other written assignments:
Please turn in  (typed or written neatly) during class on the Tuesday given.

  • Assignment 1. Tuesday, September 9, 2014
    • 12-1: 32; 12-2: 30; 12-3: 22, 34
    • 12-review: 30. Use Mathematica to produce a nice contour plot and graph of the guitar string function. Also, produce a graph showing the cross-section for x = 1, and explain what it tells you about the guitar string. Also produce a graph showing the cross-sections for t=0, 0.5 and 1, and explain what it tells you about the guitar string. How long is the period of one vibration?  You are to make a Mathematica file,  then print it out, including the text and the graphs which you have produced. Here is some Mathematica help on defining functions and making graphs and plots.  Use it as an example of how to get going on this assignment.  After downloading, you should open the file with Mathematica and run the commands to see the output.   If it opens in your browser window instead of downloading, try “save link” option, or you can definitely download it from the course Moodle site.
  • Assignment 2. Tuesday, September 16, 2014
    • 13-1: 38; 13-3: 38; 14-1: 28, 30; 14-2: 46.
  • Assignment 3. Tuesday, September 23, 2014
    • 14-4: 54, 76, 84; 14-5: 56; 14-6: 18.
  • Tuesday, September 30, 2014: no written homework due.
  • Assignment 4. Tuesday, October 7, 2014
    • 15-1: 38, 40; 15-2: 24, 28.
  • Assignment 5. Tuesday, October 14, 2014
    • 15-3: 34, 36; 16-2: 40, 58.
  • Assignment 6. Tuesday, October 21, 2014
    • 16-4: 30; 16-5: 24, 48, and there is also WebWork.
  • Tuesday October 28, 2014: no written homework due.
  • Assignment 7. Tuesday, November 4, 2014
    • 17-1: 68, 78; 21-1: 14, 28, 30.
  • Assignment 8. Tuesday, November 11, 2014
    • 17-3: 36; 18-1: 42; 18-2: 36; 18-3: 14.
  • Tuesday, November 18, 2014, Take home exam due.
  • Tuesday, November 25, 2014: no written homework due.
  • Tuesday December 2, 2014: no written homework due. Work on project.

Daily Schedule

Advertisements